

September 20, 2017

Governor Dannel Malloy State Capitol 210 Capitol Avenue Hartford, CT 06106

## RE: BUDGET AND CRUMBLING CONCRETE FOUNDATIONS

Dear Governor Malloy:

As you may know, the Capitol Region Council Government (CRCOG) created an ad-hoc working group, which also includes the sixteen towns of the Northeastern Connecticut Council of Governments, to address some of the more immediate issues with regards to crumbling foundations. This group has met regularly and has been hard at work with regards to many issues related to crumbling foundations. The CRCOG ad-hoc working committee applauds the elevation of the crumbling foundations in both the democratic and republican budget. As you and the legislature deliberate the entire budget, the committee would like to suggest the following compromise on differing aspects of the two budgets as they related to crumbling foundations:

- 1) Keep the \$12 surcharge on policies. In the first year, 85% of this surcharge would help homes with crumbling foundations, and the remainder would aid other home related issues (such as those in New Haven, radon, lead and other abatement issues). The committee believes that given the magnitude of the problem, this consistent source will assist the maximum number of homeowners possible. The committee would recommend increasing this percentage for crumbling foundations in subsequent years.
- 2) The committee supports the creation of an Office of the Executive Administrator of the Crumbling Foundations Assistance program. The ad-hoc working committee believes that if executed properly, this will be a more inexpensive administrative mechanism than a captive insurance company.
- 3) The democratic budget also included additional bond funds for crumbling foundations. The committee believes that this seed money will be critical in advancing the addressing this very important economic issue for the state.
- 4) Both budgets propose the creation of quality control plans for quarries (either by DCP or a working group). The committee supports the creation of a plan and will defer to leadership for the best mechanism.

The committee supports the following that was in both budgets:

- 1) The waiving of state and municipal building fees as outlined in both budgets.
- 2) Creation of a low-interest loan program (Collapsing Foundations Credit Enhancements Program or Collapsing Foundation Interest Rate Reduction Program).
- 3) Prohibiting the use of recycled concrete that contains pyrrhotite.
- 4) Disclosure regarding pyrrhotite in real estate transactions

Once again, we wish to thank the leadership for the work done so far and we look forward to a strong partnership to bring relief to our residents in need.

## Sincerely,

Steve Werbner

Chair, Ad-Hoc Working Committee on Crumbling Foundations

## CC:

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal, US Senate

The Honorable Chirs Murphy, US Senate

The Honorable Joe Courtney, US Representative

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro, US Representative

The Honorable Elizabeth Esty, US Representative

The Honorable Jim Himes, US Representative

The Honorable John Larson, US Representative

The Honorable Nancy Wyman, Lieutenant Governor

The Honorable Martin Looney, State Senate President pro tempore

The Honorable Bob Duff, State Senate Majority Leader

The Honorable Len Fasano, State Senate Minority Leader

The Honorable Joe Aresimowicz, State Speaker of the House

The Honorable Matthew Ritter, State House Majority Leader

The Honorable Themis Klarides, State House Minority Leader

The Honorable Steve Cassano, State Senator

The Honorable Mae Flexer, State Senator

The Honorable Anthony Guglielmo, State Senator

The Honorable Tim Larson, State Senator

The Honorable Cathy Osten, State Senator

The Honorable Tim Ackert, State Representative

The Honorable Sam Belsito, State Representative

The Honorable Patrick Boyd, State Representative

The Honorable Jeff Currey, State Representative

The Honorable Christopher Davis, State Representative

The Honorable Tom Delnicki, State Representative

The Honorable Doug Dubitsky, State Representative

The Honorable Adam Dunsby, State Representative

The Honorable Henry Genga, State Representative

The Honorable Robin Green, State Representative

The Honorable Gregory Haddad, State Representative

The Honorable Carol Hall, State Representative

The Honorable Kelly Juleson-Scopino, State Representative

The Honorable Linda Orange, State Representative

The Honorable Jason Rojas, State Representative

The Honorable Prasad Srinivasan, State Representative

The Honorable Greg Stokes, State Representative

The Honorable Mark Tweedie, State Representative

The Honorable Kurt Vail, State Representative

The Honorable Winkler, State Representative

The Honorable Tami Zawistowski, State Representative